About Us

Institution of Engineers Malaysia, Miri Branch


The Institution of Engineers, Malaysia aims to be the premier professional Organisation pivotal achieving Vision 2020.


IEM shall:
  • promote sound professional engineering practice in support of the socio-economic development objectives of the nation.
  • service the needs and interests of its members and the public and uphold the social standing image of the engineering profession.
  • contribute towards nation building and shall strive to enhance society's consciousness of science an technology.

The Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM) Miri Branch is a branch of an engineering society that aims to be a professional society that promotes and develop the science and profession of engineering in any or all of its disciplines and to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas related to engineering. Besides gaining recognition for engineering experience, IEM Miri Branch provides the platform for networking with engineers outside others company. IEM is THE organization that protects and looks after the rights and welfare of engineers.

IEM Excomm Session 2018-2019

Chairman: Ir. Dr Lau Hieng Ho
Immediate Past Chairman: Ir. Paul Chiew Lik Ing
Vice Chairman I: Ir. Tian Foon Howe
Vice Chairman II: Ir. Lim Chye Ing
Hon. Secretary: Ir. Meheron Selowara Joo
Hon. Treasurer: Ir. Sean Wong Siong Ung

Committee Members
Ir. Chong Boon Hui
Ir. William Chien Hui Liang
Ir. Lucas Loh Ted Sun
Ir. Lau Chuang Bing

Young Engineers Section, Miri Branch

The Graduate & Students Section (G&S) or currently known as the Young Engineers Section (YES) of IEM Miri branch is a sub comittee of IEM Miri branch. YES expose young engineers to professional engineering world as well as enhance the bond among fellow engineers and help them go onboard on an engineering career, besides YES also supports the executive committee of IEM Miri by organizing activities for the public as a link between the community with the established professional engineers in Miri.

YES Excomm Session 2016-2017

Chairperson: Adeline Wong Set Fung
Immediate Past Chairman: Elaine Wee
Vice Chairperson I: Sheron Lim Gek Joo
Vice Chairperson II:Dr. Stephanie Chan
Hon. Secretary: Dr. Tan Inn Shi
Hon. Treasurer: Chong Feng Chyuan

Committee Members
Elsie Sow Chai Shen
Dr. Yam Ker San
Dr. John Lau Sie Yon
Dr. Raymond Chiong Choo Wee
Dr. Henry Foo Chee Yew
Sdri. Genevieve Ann Tang
Sdr. Stephen Teh
Sdri. Yii Ni Shun
Sdr. Callum Tan
Sdri. Elisa Pui Sin Ying
Sdr. Tang Khai Weng