Saturday, June 23, 2012

YES Miri 1st Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The Young Engineers Section (YES) Miri held their first ever AGM on the morning of 23rd June 2012. This event was held with the intent to put YES Miri further in-line with the constitutions and procedures, put forth by the IEM HQ in Kuala Lumpur. The event which was held at the Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM) Miri Branch Office, was attended by over 25 members of the institution.

The event started off with words of welcome and an introduction of the current YES Miri committee members by Engr. Lesly Ajeng, YES Chairperson 2011/2012. A brief recap of the past events that YES Miri had successfully completed was then presented by Engr Tiang Kwong Hwo. This was followed by the 1st YES Miri Annual Report and the presentation of Appreciation Certificates to the current committee members. Engr. Lesly also congratulated the team on a job well done which resulted in YES Miri being selected to be the YES Second Best Branch Award out of thirteen YESs in the country.

Engr. Lim Chye Ing, acting as the returning officer, had the honor of announcing the newly elected committee members for 2012/2013 and a handover ceremony was carried out thereafter. The new lineup includes Chairperson Engr. Michelle Ling, Vice-Chairperson I Engr. Francis Wong, Vice-Chairperson II Eng. Pui Shuk Foon, Hon. Secretary Sdr. Elaine Wee, Hon. Treasurer Yen Shan Shan, and General Committees Engr. Tiong Ching Ching, Engr. Tay Hong Tat, Engr. Mohd. Izzat, Engr. Adeline Wong, Sdr. Low Kim Kiat, and Sdr. Chow Han Seng.

Reported by Engr. Michelle Ling